Log in

Log in


 Bob Hagen Memorial Award

Honoring Our Friend and Colleague Since 2003

Bob Hagen formed Aurora Employee Benefits and Insurance in 1991 to provide Alaska employers with the same Employee Benefits available to big, national companies. In 1994, he changed the name to Hagen Insurance, Inc. and soon added Personal Lines in 1995, followed by Commercial Lines in 1997.  Bob was respected in the business community and well-liked personally which made his untimely death in 2003 a shock to all.

Bob graduated from Stanford University, where he did play some football, but at heart he was a wordsmith, loved poetry and art and was an accomplished speed chess player.  He and his wife, Resa traveled around sightseeing in the Lower 48 in a motor home for a few years prior to starting their insurance business. They enjoyed entertaining and hot tubbing in their home in the Chugach foothills where they proudly served guests delicious smoked salmon made from their own recipe. Both loved hiking the Kenai Peninsula with friends as well as taking every opportunity to get out on the water to fish. Fulfilling another dream, Bob and Resa adopted twin boys, John and Nathan and the whole family enjoyed all Alaska has to offer.

NABIP Alaska Chapter (Formerly AAHU) established the Bob Hagen Memorial Award in 2003 to celebrate excellence in the insurance and employee benefits industry, as represented by past member Bob Hagen. At NABIP Alaska Chapter’s Annual Expo in February, the Bob Hagen Memorial Award will be presented to a new recipient. This is your time to nominate a colleague who exemplifies the spirit of excellence, commitment, work ethic, and dedication to the Alaska employee benefits industry.

How to Nominate: To nominate a colleague, submit the attached candidate nomination form to

Deadline: Has been extended to January 31, 2024.

Click here to access the Bob Hagen submission form

Past Award Recipients

2017 - Tiffany Stock

2015 - Bill Hunsuck

2014 - Rhonda Kitter

2013 - Juna Penney

2012 - Jeff Ranf

2011 - Rick Johnson

2010 - Jennifer Bundy-Cobb

2007 - Lon Wilson

2006 - Gina Bosnakis

2005 - Terry Allard

2004 - Tom Turner

2003 - Cal Calvin

Upcoming eventsAW

Follow Us


Tel: 907-644-1466

Alaska Association of Health Underwriters is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. P O Box 244065 Anchorage, AK 99524

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software